Palaui: A Tryst

I left that day nostalgic just as 2015 is starting to fill its blank pages. I arrived days before in hopes of seeking answers to questions within me. Yet, I left an island of pristine beaches, untouched forest, warm hearts and my questions still left unanswered.

Siwangag Cove
Siwangag Cove against a darkening sky

As the island starts to become a stranger again, I just have one wish, for her to remain just as that, a stranger – detached, aloof, mysterious and beautiful.

My two day tryst with her had been exemplary. She allowed me to see the beauty she hid, reserved for those that trully desires to explore her. She had let me in with a little coercion but she did as long as the heart is ready to embrace who she is – rugged, short tempered and uncivilized, like me in so many ways.

She allowed me to set my sight on its beautiful cove, to walk barefooted on its beach, be able to taste the cool, salty water of her sea and admire the corals washed ashore.

Crunching like broken glass, one steps on the soul of the sea
Crunching like broken glass, one steps on the soul of the sea
The empty hallway surrounding the lighthouse
The empty hallway surrounding the lighthouse

She made me realized that life doesn’t necessarily give answers but allows anyone to throw more questions to the world. Sometimes it would answer back or be asked to wait. Oftentimes, just the unbearable deafening silence but when in luck, it does echoes back.

Trekking on Leonardo's trail to Cape Engano
Trekking on Leonardo’s trail to Cape Engano

I learned of Leonardo’s trail that would lead me to a lighthouse and it was along the way that she showed me her trees which grew tall to meet the sky. She painted a picture of pretty butterflies she kept in her yard, left dallying with the morning sun.

A crab within its shell, harvested in the morning using a trap staked the night before.
A crab within its shell, harvested in the morning using a trap staked the night before.

She made me learn of the incredible story of helmet crabs as they sat still inside their shells. I was left amazed by the untold story of their journey from the sea to the forest, reminding me that each living thing has its purpose for existing and contributes in balancing nature.

IMG_5043

She allowed me to admire the green pasture littered with carabaos, the landscape transformed by the farming man and the darker side of the human mind.

She made me a witness to the flight of the birds, away from their home to breed. Like me who found a solace on unknown territory.

She allowed me to see the beautiful panorama of her beaches from atop one of her mountains.

The life giving water.
The life giving water.

She quenched my thirst when she showed me her waterfalls, in my eyes a reflection of her beauty. Yet, she had made me yearn for a human touch when she blasted me with cold winds from the sea.

IMG_5129

She awed me with tales of her lighthouse, standing against time and the elements. Ruin may surround it but the power from the sun still guide ships around the island at night. While the stairs might be rickety and its walls old and musty, from afar the lighthouse stood brooding, proud and mighty.

Cape Engano: it took them four years to complete it and until today it still serve its purpose
Cape Engano: it took them four years to complete it and until today it still serve its purpose

She asked for understanding on nights when she unleashes her tempest – unmerciful winds blocking out the melody of the waves as it rushes away from the sea.

She instilled in me that there is loyalty in every relationship forged, may that be between humans or beasts.

Lastly, she regrets to inform me that a heart that trully loves is a heart that relishes on that love. A heart that bets everything, is a heart that will lose nothing.#

****

I finally learned the basic of pusoy dos from three roaming hearts finding peace and silence on the island. Thank you for the laughter and the wine.

Interested? Click here.

3 thoughts on “Palaui: A Tryst

Leave a Reply

