Good Reads of 2014

I have started my love story with books since I learned how to read.

I devoured everything I could get my hands into. Luckily, the highschool library of the barrio where I grew up has a lot of donated books from overseas. I’ve read The Curious Case of Benjamin Button from the compilation of Great American Short Stories, two decades later it would become a box-office hit.

Preference had no space. From bible stories, fairytales, short stories and fables of my childhood to novels in highschool. Those corny love stories of tagalog writers (my favorite was Gilda Olvidado with those sizzling covers), Filipino comics, then SVH & Archie to Sydney Sheldon’s. It must be The Sky is Falling which made me fall in love with Sheldon’s works.

In college, I read John Grisham’s A Time To Kill and from then on I made sure to read all his court room drama laden stories. Robert Ludlum provided the action before his works were defined by Matt Damon. I was also introduced to historical romance novels and those much thinner cowboys-of-texas kind of stories. And oh the awesome classics. Alas, I got to read Hardy Boys.

I shifted from one author to another, Sheldon, Steel, Ludlum, McNaught and Grisham defined my college years.

Adulthood introduced me to Tom Clancy with his in depth knowledge and description of helos, guns, subs and political dramas which are almost like history. I read everything he had written except those he co-wrote with someone but made an exception with Command Authority because it was the last book he published while alive. Executive Order is an all-time favorite.

I’ve been reading a lot of Paulo Coelho’s and classics by Fyodor Dostoyevsky. I’ve always wanted to read a Victor Hugo but I could not finish A Tale of Two Cities.

So here is my 2014 reads:
1. The Game of Thrones book 1 – 5 by George R.R. Martin
2. It Worked For Me by Colin Powell
3. The Roots of Obama’s Rage by Dinesh D’Souza
4. Caveat Emptor by Ken Perenyi (highly recommended, one of the greatest forgers of million-worth paintings and how he evaded arrest)
5. The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoyevsky (funny and engaging)
6. Obama’s America by Dinesh D’ Souza
7. Command Authority by Tom Clancy
8. The Valkyries by Paulo Coelho
9. Like the Flowing River by Paulo Coelho
10. Friends Forever by Danielle Steel
11. The Alchemist, The Magician… the Michael Scott series
12. A Lady Never Surrenders by Sabrina Jeffreys (my only historical romance novel for 2014)
13. Fifty Shades of Grey book 1 by E.L James (dropped book 2 midway)
14. The Zahir by Paulo Coelho
15. Call of the Wild by Jack London (an all time favorite)
16. The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
17. The Maze Runner trilogy by James Dashner
18. The Way of the Bow by Paulo Coelho
19. The Pilgrimage by Pauolo Coelho
20. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho (reread)
21. The Devil and Miss Prym by Paulo Coelho
22. Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coelho
23. Adultery by Paulo Coelho
24. The Witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho
25. Inferno by Dan Brown

Begin crossing out yours and adding those you haven’t read yet. Looking forward to 2015 reads!

4 thoughts on “Good Reads of 2014

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than 4 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

